Veterans Memorial Park The park, a tribute to the area veterans, will be educational. The committee’s wish is that area students will be inspired to learn the history of the conflicts involving the USA. The students will have a better understanding of what it means to serve their country and preserve freedom.
The Memorial The Spencerville Area Veterans Memorial main focal point is the 18 foot tall centerpiece. Its foundation is made of two five sided granite bases, sitting on a brick 5-point star, and supporting five 10 foot tall columns which represent the strength of our military services. On those columns the insignia of the five branches of service will be engraved, along with the history of each branch. At the top of the centerpiece are three bronze rifles supporting a globe, which represents the conflicts our service men and women have fought all around the world to preserve our freedom. The United States have been involved in ten major conflicts. These conflicts are represented by ten granite markers in the circular area surrounding the center piece. The markers will be engraved with historical information about each conflict, including dates and the number of American Troops who fought in those conflicts, and the number who were killed in action. The circular area will be flanked by flags of the United States, State of Ohio, POW?MIA and the branches of service. Visitors will be able to sit and reflect on granite benches on either side of the entrance to the memorial.
How can you help to continue to help out the park? Donations are always accepted and they are tax deductible. Please mail donations to: Spencerville Area Veterans memorial Park Commission PO Box 93 Spencerville, Ohio 45887 Questions: Jay Brown (419-692-8615) Email: Click here for a form to purchase a brick paver. Names on the Star Instructions for Bricks in Star Back Page of Order Form The Spencerville community, Bowersock Brothers VFW Post 6772, and Harry J Reynolds American Legion Post 191 have formed the Spencerville Area Veterans Memorial Park Commission Commission Members Are: Mike Riley, co-chairman; Jay Brown, co-chairman; Rich Beebe, secretary; _________, Treasurer; George Cox; Sam Hixson; Sean Chapman; Pete Seiling; Ron Shook; Anthony McMichael